Learning to love oneself

Are you competitive by nature or have you ever fallen into the trap of competing with someone?
Well I have. I will admit that shamefully.
And sometimes I feel that the reason we compete is because we are not convinced that what we have is already good enough or that we make too many excuses that stops us from reaching our goals and we see someone else who has beat us to it.
I am done feeling less, and I am done comparing. Because guys, comparison just makes you feel lousy about yourself or empowers (but in the wrong way). The only comparison we should be doing is comparing who we are now from how we were then.
I think that people (I’m speaking generally), have to learn how to focus on themselves (their strengths, their weaknesses, their goals, their drive, their purpose) instead of focusing on what they don’t have that others do.
Yeah it’s a hard thing to practise, easier said than done, but that’s why you also have to surround yourself with people who are life-giving. I don’t know about others but this is true for me, when I meet someone who is life-giving, I am more life-giving myself. It’s a beautiful domino effect.

Leave a Reply

