Thoughts and talks

I met up with two of my girlfriends today to celebrate the 21st birthday of one of them and as she sat opposite me sharing her stories, I could not help but notice how amazingly gorgoeus she looked today. I know this sounds rather lesbian of me but I am not trying to imply that, all I am saying was that my friend truly looked so gorgeous. Then I proceeded to compliment her just because I don’t like to secretly compliment people in my head as I feel people should feel good about themselves and compliments are necessary when the occasion calls for it. I can’t say exactly what her reaction was, I think she was amused, confused, shy, pleased and even awkward to hear that. But that’s when the conversation shifted to why some “friends” can’t be happy for others. There is an inverted comma there because true friends are life-giving and always ready to be happy for their friends.

Over my 21 years of growing up and having different groups of close friends in my many phases of life, I’ve realised I have met quite a plentiful of “friends” who are always envious, always comparing, and never eager to throw compliments. Infact, they would suppress that compliment and try to find flaws in whatever way they can or try to find an area where they would do better in just to make themselves feel better. I’m sure this stems from an old childhood wound that was never addressed before, and has carried on to their present stage of life. Maybe their parents kept comparing them before, or maybe their parents would always tell them they are not pretty enough, not smart enough, not slim enough etc. I do feel a lot of pity for people who were treated that way as kids because I strongly believe that all parents should always make their children feel better about themselves, the world is cruel enough as it is. However, I feel that at an older age, people should be reasonable enough about themselves and their wounds and not hide behind the excuse that their parents did these things to do them and therefore they can’t stop comparing. We are responsible for own lives, it is time to grow up and take charge of your personal growth as a person and not hide behind these wounds as your excuse. You can’t change where you come from, but you can change where you go from there.

So to my “friends”, whoever you are, or to strangers who come by my post and you relate to this post, good things no matter how small they are fights the cruel, harsh realities of this world we live in. Positive energy only creates more positive energy. Start to take courage in throwing a simple compliment or two, especially to those whom you envy. You’ll never know how much that simple compliment can go a long way in someone’s life.

Leave a Reply

