Day 1, PHASE 1.

So today, I tried out Skinnymom’s Calorie Torching Roundbased workout. The one I chose to do today is 5 rounds of 10 Pushups, 20 Squats, 30 Burpees, 40 Lunges (2o each leg) and 50 Mountainclimbers (50 each side, 100 in total). It says here that this workout will only take 2o mins but for those of you who aren’t as fit yet, like myself, well you’re probably gonna take an hour and a half (or more) to complete all 5 rounds. I could only manage 4 rounds in an hour and a half, with long pauses in between sets. Hopefully I’ll build enough endurance one day to complete all 5 rounds in that time I took to do 4 rounds, and the ultimate goal is to complete 5 rounds in 20 minutes with proper Pushups, Burpees with Pushups + jumps in the air.

IMG_0158.JPG

Previously, when I planned for my workouts, I was obsessed with getting toner by the time my Summer break ends – which is August. I started assigning each day of the week to work on the different areas of my body. For example – Monday would be arms day, Tuesday – Legs day etc. However, after reading Georgina Poh’s (if you haven’t heard of her, she’s quite a popular fitness person in Singapore) post on insta, she said rest days are also very important for the body as we must be careful not to overwork the body, the maximum amount of days to workout should be 4 times a week. Hence, I’ve realised that the way I planned my workouts before were wrong. Furthermore, if I keep doing abs workouts, I will only grow those abs under the layer of fats on my stomach. My core has to be strengthened first and as most already know, growing abs start in the kitchen. The food we eat plays a huge part in reaching those goals. It is not alright to work hard just to put those calories back in your body. The goals we have has to be realistic as well and from there, we can start to plan how to reach them. For instance, thigh gaps. Not every women can have that thigh gap they so obsessively desire. If they feel that they are flabby on the thighs, do not work to get a thigh gap, instead work to getting them toned. Legs are not meant to look like twigs, they need muscle.

With all the information I have gathered from various fitness inspirations – Brooke from Skinnymom and Georgina Poh, to be exact, I have decided to plan my workouts and goals more realistically. As I cannot afford a personal trainer cause they’re pretty expensive, I have planned my workouts to target various goals. While planning them, I am aware that getting toned will take a lot of hard work, discipline and time. On top of it all, it takes commitment to your body. Hence, the workouts I have planned for myself span across a long period of time. I believe the level of fitness I am on would be would be a high level of Beginner, not enough to call it Intermediate.  But to tone up, I would need to get my fitness level higher, as such, I got to improve my strength and endurance.

The reason why this is titled PHASE 1 is because it means – Endurance training in my workout plan. The duration for this workout will be 4 weeks, and it comprises of the various calorie torching workouts in Skinnymom’s website (refer to link above) so that my workouts do not become boring and dreadful, cause you know, I tend to dread repetitive workouts. I have set them for thrice a week, alternate days. On Saturdays, I plan to go on trail runs, but that will be after I get my trail running shoes. For now, I shall just go for road runs or park runs. For the runs – I am going to slowly work my way to running a 10km, starting with 3km to 5km to 7km and eventually 10km. If I get bored along the way, I shall do interval runs – sprints and jogs. Once the 4 weeks is up, I will move on to higher intensity endurance training, PHASE 2. The duration I have set for that workout is 8 weeks. This is to ensure my form, stamina, endurance and strength will be able to take the workouts I have planned to begin toning the body.

As I would like to tone all areas of my body, I have decided to work on them individually first instead of multitasking it. I think my core needs the extra attention and focus and I have marked that as PHASE 3 which will be a total of 20 weeks (5 months). The core is an important muscle because it ensures proper structure and since my core is not as strong as I would like to be, I have set 3 times a week for 1 month to strengthen the muscle, not yet to tone, because I have to get rid of the fats first. Once my core is strengthened, I will begin doing core workouts that will build from low intensity to higher intensity over that period of time. I have not planned for the other phases of my workout yet as I would like to see how this turns out first. But the basic sketch of it is that the following phases would be to work the rest of the body parts separately.

Okay I am no fitness expert, and I do not really know if the workout I have planned will prove effective yet but I would rather try, experiment, tweak than to not do anything at all. People who complain about their bodies but don’t do anything to help themselves are the worst so I will not fall prey to that because I know what it’s like to whine and complain but yet, filling my body with more junk. Trust me, it makes you feel worse, especially when you see people around you working towards similar goals. The goals I have set for myself, though similar to most, are custom for only me. The only person I have to prove myself to, is myself. I know I will have a pool of encouragers and also doubters along the way but at the end of the day, this is my race to run, my goal to achieve. I will only have myself to be responsible to. As such, the workouts I have planned for myself are custom for only me although inspired by mostly Skinnymom’s website. Everyone’s body type is different, as such some may need a longer or shorter amount of time as I do and their workouts would then be different from mine. This is just to share how I have planned to carry this out. My worry right now is when my summerbreak ends because school really does take up alot of my time during seasons and to dedicate even an hour to working out can be slightly difficult. Hence, the discipline has to start now before the break ends so that this will eventually become a habit.

I do not believe in starvation or unrealistic calorie counting as diets. A food may contain low calories but may not provide the proper nutrients for your body. Starvation just makes you store more fat to be consumed later as your body will start noticing that it’s getting a lack of nourishment. Furthermore, it decreases metabolism as your body will begin to conserve energy once in starvation mode. As a result, lethargy happens. After you begin to eat again, your metabolism rate will start burning calories at a much slower rate. The first few months of this journey is of extreme importance to maintain discipline, especially in the kitchen. As for me, I thank God for my Herbalife shakes. I substitute two of my meals every day with a shake, sometimes all three meals. The shake is low in calories (if you must know), very filling, provides all the nutrients your body needs, and delicious (if you are creative enough). I blend mine with a variety of fruits each time. But I am not here to sell the idea of Herbalife shakes to anyone, I am a huge supporter and I love the products. The two meals I substitute my shakes with are breakfast and dinner. For lunch, I try to eat clean as much as possible. The idea of a diet is to ensure you eat healthy and eat smart. You need to start being aware of when you’re eating because you’re hungry and when you’re eating for fun or out of boredom. If you feel hungry even after lunch, have healthy snacks like nuts or research healthy snack recipes to make on your own.

Eating clean, or eating healthy does not mean you can’t enjoy your food. There are many recipes on the net that are clean, healthy, nutritious and delicious. Try them out, you’ll be amazed. Usually before and after my workouts, I drink my Herbalife shake as it is lighter compared to food and provides me with adequate energy to start working out. I drink them after for recovery and storage as well. For those who do not have Protein shakes, you can also have healthy snacks before working out, but keep it light for obvious reasons. Eating food that are high in protein after a workout is good for the same reason of recovery and storage.

So today after my workout, I was too lazy to make my shake. I had this instead – Strawberry Yogurt, with a little bit of milk and 2 scoops of Herbalife Formula 1 Vanilla Powder, blended and frozen overnight. Incase shakes get boring, there are more ways to introduce the Formula 1 powder into food. For me, I decided to make it into an ice-cream

IMG_0159.JPG

Hydrating yourself is also very important. I have recently started drinking 3 litres of water a day. At the very least, 2 litres when I am out and have no access to a water source to refill my bottle. Water aids in the diet and it has an awesome effect to your skin. You can tell the difference in a month if you keep this up.

Well, I’m just sharing a little bit of my journey to get fit and the steps I have taken. For those who read my blog or stumble upon it, I hope this inspires you.

One thought on “Day 1, PHASE 1.

  1. The end of Phase 1 | Crismansagues

Leave a Reply

