The boy & the girl

She sat opposite him, searching for something in his eyes. She didn’t want to bring the topic up again but her heart ached. The conversation they had the night before was a conversation they’ve been having in the past few months. This time, she knew in her heart that they both were on the same page and that something had to be done.

He continued to look at her and she continued to look at him. Both eager to say something but found it impossible to do.

“Last night, when we said all that, I was so sure it was the right thing to do. This morning, I got up and had doubts. I don want to be without you,” she said. “I know there is no other way. I know I am toxic and I have been for awhile. If I stay I will damage you and I don’t want that. I know we will still continue to be friends, that doesn’t scare me. It’s the thought of not calling you Love anymore. It’s the thought of not sending morning messages to each other, or being affectionate when affections are needed.”

I know. I don’t want to lose that either,” he replied.

She pauses and takes a sip of her drink. She does that when she’s about to cry. She manages to control her tears.

I don’t want to let go but I know we need to take a step back and figure things out again. I don’t know what happened to me and how I got this way. I don’t like who I’m becoming and I don’t know how to help myself. Why can’t I be simple? Why must I be so complicated?”

He reaches for her hand, lovingly. He was always so gentle and patient with her.

I know it’s a journey you need to take on your own. I know that you’ve been upset with life lately and I’m always going to be here,” he said, reassuringly.

Everyone tells me to jump that cliff with all the difficult decisions I had to make in the past, and I have jumped that cliff but I am afraid,” she tells him.

And I am telling you that it’s okay and I am here,” he replies immediately.

She takes a sip of her coffee and her ears are attentive to the music in the background –

Last Christmas I gave you me heart /

The very next day, you gave it away…

Still holding her hand, he says to her, ‘I love you‘. This time, her heart is heavy. She wants to tell him she loves him too but she fears her emotions have gotten the better of her and if she were to talk, she might just cry.

He knows this. She continued looking into the distance for a minute or two, but it felt like an eternity.

This year, to save me from tears, /

I’ll give it someone special…

She begins to cry.

Argh, the stupid song,” she tells him, half laughing, half crying, as she wipes the tears away.

He laughs along with her, his heart heavy as well.

“Love, like rain, can nourish  from above, drenching couples with a soaking joy. But sometimes, under the angry heat of life, love dries on the surface and must nourish from below, tending to its roots, keeping itself alive.” – The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom

The tale of the boy and the girl is about a couple who found each other rather early in their lives. The rush of emotions and the idea of forever is what usually defines young love. This is what happened to them.

7 years later in the adult phases of their lives, the boy and the girl are beginning to realise that what had worked for them back then is no longer working for them now. Frustrated and still so very much in love, they question why love simply can’t be enough. With both experiencing different challenges in life and needing different things, they struggle to rough it out.

Like the quote from The Five People You Meet In Heaven, the tale of the boy and the girl is an ongoing story as they continue to face the same challenges; looking deep into their roots for strength to keep them going on worst days. Although it is unclear the direction of the relationship between the boy and the girl, it is clear that they are refusing to let go. The writer would like to mention that the boy and the girl are refusing to let go mostly out of fear but also because they are still very much in love and are determined to overcome these obstacles together like they’ve done before rather than to rough it out on their own.

The boy and the girl could potentially be a story that says love is simply enough if love is real.

 

Leave a Reply

